Derelinquat me gehennam solus

Back to projects.

Been working with one of these today.

Granted, it looks larger in the photo, but look at the percolator on the top.   That is your run of the mill chinese stamped steel percolator that holds about 10 cups of coffee.   Not real big.

The trick to this thing is placing a grate in the bottom of it.  The first run I tried, no grate, fought tooth and nail to get a good bed of coals in it.   Later, I found an old rusty BBQ grill face and cut it up enough to put in and retry.

Fried up some turnip and chives for dinner on top of it.   This little thing rocked out pretty good.   Heck, its still out there ticking away and I dampened it back.   I figure here in a bit, I am going to load it up, nearly close the dampers and see how long it will hold heat.  I really do not expect it to hold all night, there is just not enough thermal mass there.  But if it can hold for a few hours, Awesome.

Next project will be fitting a pipe into the RV somehow to vent it out I can create a simple controlled draft to feed air to it without smothering myself in the confined space of a 20X8 floor plan.  Key point is making the outlet in such a way that I do not melt down my insulation or catch the bloody thing on fire.   And yes, I am considering using flexible exhaust pipe and running out one of my windows and sealing it up in some way.

With the cold of winter coming on, I am far more interested in getting this up and running, than moto-cycles or human powered generators.   Voodoo and myself are not yet acclimated to the northern climes.   Day time is not too bad, when we can get moving, but those nights get that little furball ashiver’n and beggin’ dad to let him in bed.    Wouldn’t mind so much if he didn’t take up as much space as two people and likes to hog the covers.

Looking forward to being able to warm up the house without using propane; that gets expensive, fast.

6 responses

  1. Wildflower

    have seen a similiar stove made from a large metal ammo can

    may you stay warm and safe this winter….

    November 12, 2012 at 7:33 am

    • I have seen that as well. those look like good solid units too. The advantage of this one is, it is here NOW.
      And I intend on staying warm and alive through whatever comes our way, including nasty winters

      November 12, 2012 at 12:43 pm

  2. Been meaning to get one of those as a back up camp stove. Good Christmas present.

    November 13, 2012 at 12:12 am

    • Make sure to get a grate or find a grate for it. The thing is sluggish as hell without one but with the grate in it, it acts just like its bigger cousins. More in a following post about that stove.

      November 13, 2012 at 12:28 am

  3. I have printed out the three pics on Sportsman’s Guide. I am working on an upsized version. I chop stove wood for others about 16″ I figured 18 to 20″ long. and I figure to use 3″ID exhaust pipe for the Flue Pipes. I got Gingery’s sheet metal book, but the exhaust pipe is cheaper and faster! I just found out Lindsay Books is Kaput. I don’t begrudge Lindsay his retirement, but if Paladin packs it in, I’m gonna hafta go into their biz myself!

    January 18, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    • Yeah, Lindsey is packing it in. I know that about a year and a half ago, he mentioned it. As for alternative sources, look in my side bar. One is “nation builders books”: has many of the same books as Lindsey but the site is not as fun nor as intuitive. “Your old time bookstore” is the other and I prefer it as it is closer (but by no means close) to the setup that Lindsey has/had. (also in the side bar.)

      A definite upscale of that stove is needed for purposes similar to what I am using it for. And 3″ exhaust pipe would definitely eliminate some of the issues of the 2 1/4″ pipe they use. Plus, you can find 18″ length of it at most autoparts stores OR have a them flanged at a local muffler shop. Make sure if you do that they flange them tight instead of a slip fit for welding.
      I would also go slightly wider as I have to split my wood down quite a bit to get it in the door if I have a bed of coals. That cuts down on burn time, meaning I have to get up every couple of hours to feed it. Larger wood would lengthen that out to a few to five hours.

      January 18, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.