Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Touchin base.

Well, there has been much shuffling of feets and paws here at the shop since my last post.   I won’t go into too many details, just know that there REALLY IS a lot of dust and whatnot involved in this one.

There are those that know what is going on, the where-for’s and the why’s and that is really all that needs said at this stage.   Hopefully, this is a better move for me and the furry supervisor (he thinks so with a chew buddy named Jane, pics may come forth as blackmail material on his furry little butt)

Still nada to report on projects other than that they are not forgotten.   The materials for them are just in a state of  ‘stuffednes’ as they are packed up for travel.   That will be shifting out of that state over the next few days, but I have a feeling that even being unpacked, I am not going to be able to get at them for a few.   Much to setup and move around and believe me, resetting a lathe and mill is not a “there it is, good enough” project.   Even cheepiechineecrap has to be bedded and trammeled if you want any accuracy out of it.

My only complaint,

It’s fricken COLD!!!   Kinda got used to the ‘bake your face off ‘ looking out the window, then the ‘broil your hide’ humidity of the areas in Texas I have been in since June.    July in the San Antonio area was heavenly for me once I adapted my hide to an angry sun.   Last night the Voo even complained about it and wanted to burrow in with me.  I relented a tad and let him in bed, ON TOP OF THE COVERS but did throw a small horse blanket over him, which he thoroughly appreciated.  Even since he started shedding his summer coat, he still isn’t built for northern climes, at least not in the fur area.   That ‘wash an wear’ coat of his is pretty thin on the undersides.

And with that thought, I think my most immediate and pressing project is to build a small wood stove for an RV.   Brrrrrrrr.

11 responses

  1. Wildflower

    cold? grow a thick furry coat “wild thing”

    November 5, 2012 at 4:48 am

  2. good to hear from ya. You’ll have to fill me in on the new digs. I mowed your old habitat today. 🙂

    November 5, 2012 at 5:58 am

  3. Spud

    Hell, even here I’m seriously considering the same thing and building a small RV stove ! Recently my main thrust has been with the purification of water. Just about done with a R.O. system, although it takes about 500 watts to run. Have a combination passive solar heater that will preheat for a wood burning still combination in mind for greater volume with less power needed.
    Looking forward to more of your projects….
    You can have that cold country ha ha

    November 5, 2012 at 10:35 am

    • May have found one, look at sportsmans guide for that little GI Tent stove. Not very big, but hey, there ain’t a whole lot to heat up here either. Now just finding a place to put it, seeing how space is such a premium in an RV and fire factors need considered.

      November 6, 2012 at 11:05 pm

      • Spud

        Simple sheet metal shields spaced from combustible surfaces with a 1 inch air gap will work great to eliminate fire hazards. Make sure to leave a space top and bottom so that air will passively convect.

        November 9, 2012 at 9:46 am

      • I know this trick, the other trick is in location. Not too many small nooks that I can use as such in a dedicated fashion. Working on it though.

        November 9, 2012 at 1:26 pm

  4. Glad you made it brother! Give Voodoo a pat for me.

    November 5, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    • Or a swift kick! 🙂

      November 6, 2012 at 5:58 am

      • Your just mad because he ate a squirrel before we left. LOL

        November 6, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    • Yuppers, made it and been busier than hell since landing. Getting settled in though. More to come, stay posted (and have wifi here so,,,,)

      November 6, 2012 at 11:03 pm

  5. Your back in business! I’ve got plenty of squirrels. As you know. Will be sure to eat the marrow.

    November 7, 2012 at 12:45 am

Leave a Reply

