Derelinquat me gehennam solus

busy, but not a lot to say.

Had a little accident while on the road over the last weekend.   Dropped the Iphone and shattered the touch screen.   Worked alright but was a little scary to use and hard as hell to read.  Luckily, I was due for an upgrade and I managed to get an newer 4 model for $1 and some minor fees.    Hurts, but hey, communication is critical for a while yet.    While I would actually like to be able to do without a phone altogether, I think, with my family in mind, that would not be such a hot idea.

Been busy here as well.  Not much to talk about, framing, hanging sheeting and some insulation.    blahblahblah.  Haven’t been doing much on the lathes as I am working on stock and billet for some projects.     Things are just a tad sporadic right now and I am still not quite back in my groove after traveling the last few days.

Voodoo is getting better about ‘herding’ squirrels.   Actually ran two back ’round to me tonight.    Gonna try again in the morning and see if its a fluke or if he has actually figured out that aspect of hunting with humans.   While I did have the shotgun, I didn’t fulfill Voo’s wish of tasty tree-rat.   Yeah, I missed.    No excuses either.   It happens.    And while that little rat was fast BEFORE I shot at him, he really put on the turbo-juice when things got exciting in his world.   Single shot shotguns suck for that reason, but I rather enjoy the light weight of this one.  (a .410 FYI.   Nothing big, but effective against rats, bats, and wabbits.  As long as you can hit them though.   :-P  )

So, not much to talk ’bout, and its late.   I will try to pull up something of interest soon and maybe even get some hot fires going and fill you in on that and those magical things that fire can do.

7 responses

  1. Wildflower

    how is your eyesight?

    February 18, 2013 at 2:43 am

    • Eyesight is just fine, only need glasses when doing close up work like machining or reading.
      No, that miss was failure to lead the target correctly. Not used to using a shotgun either, always been a rifle guy: can’t shoot as far with a shotgun and the pattern was too scattered to be effective. Shouldn’t have made the shot but the heat of the moment was upon me. See? Excuses. I already admitted I missed!

      February 18, 2013 at 9:13 am

  2. Soffitrat

    Yeah, yeah, yeah. Just admit it. You don’t know how to use a shotgun. If you can call a 410 a shot gun.

    February 18, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    • aw’com’on guys, give it a rest! I MISSED Big whoop! (but I have to agree that the .410 misses ‘shotgun status’ by a few degrees. Kinda like calling a .22 a sniper rifle.)

      February 18, 2013 at 10:48 pm

      • Slower squirrel? Naw… I don’t see any relief going your way any time soon. :)

        But that was a great analogy!

        February 19, 2013 at 11:51 pm

  3. Wildflower

    maybe you should get slower squirrels

    February 19, 2013 at 8:17 pm

  4. Spud

    Nothing wrong with a .410, ask my wife ! She plugged a chicken killing dog at twenty yards with one…rolled that puppy into a care package to hell. Caliber don’t much matter, all bout shot placement.

    February 20, 2013 at 6:54 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.