Derelinquat me gehennam solus

I’m thinking the universe has a different plan in mind

Murphy was in the house today, hardcore.   If it could go wrong, it likely did.   First up, while drilling the holes as gash marks for the new gear, my rotary table managed to come apart at the seams.   I should have known something was wrong when the first drill bit broke while drilling, but stubborn old me figured I was just was just leaning a bit too hard on the feed.   I have a pic of it but for some reason, WordPress doesn’t want to upload it.     There is a retaining bolt in the lower spindle that holds it all together.   Sadly, that bolt is nowhere to be found any longer.    I couldn’t find it in the pelican case where I had been storing it, I can’t find it in the shop anywhere but I didn’t hear anything drop either: I think it has been missing for a rather long time.   And of course, its an odd shape AND metric thread so not easily remade.   (and yet another project that will need addressed at some time.)

Of course, being the stubborn ol’ coot that I am, I had to keep pressing forward.   I went ahead and took the old blank, made an arbor to hold ti in the lathe again(the 3-1), and refaced the cuts that I couldn’t use.    I then placed it back on the the southbend with the hob I made and started over.    Still no success: instead of 35 teeth, this one has 33.222 (guesstimate) teeth.  SLOPPY   Grrrrr.

Here is a pic of it all in motion,   You can’t see the cutting teeth on the hob as it is in motion (as shown by the jaws on the chuck) but you can see the chip build up around the gear.

IMG_0604

I had to make that peice that the gear is riding on.   And it is jury rigged to the southbend cross-slide.   Milling clamps are really versatile things to have around when you are one-offing anything.

But as you can see, I have managed to get pretty good at cutting threads.    Of course, there is much more to learn about it, and I will get there, and working with this machine will teach me MUCH more than a more modern machine will.   I have no issues doing all this stuff manually as I learn more about the theory and practice of the functions and abilities needed.   If I were programming a CNC machine to do this, I would learn nothing about the ‘tricks’ the old timers knew, nor would I appreciate as much, the things they did with these tools.

I am not done with this project by anymeans, but I am going to let it idle for a day or two.  Maybe Murphy will lose interest in my actions and go away.   Time to watch the fuel usage on the genny, and I still need to get the primary genny back online before we are down to none.

All in all, even with the failures, it was a good day.   Much better spent than watching the tyrant in chief swear in for another 1461 days.    Gonna be a long strange trip these next four years and I feel we ‘ain’t seen nuthin yet’ as for what TPTwB have in store for us mundano.

8 responses

  1. Very cool!!! I could not force myself to watch it either! I great weekend considering being on call,I’ll tell ya about next time I see ya! Hows your boy doing is adjusting to having equipment removed? Guess we will be changing your name to thread cutter. I show the Mr Syndrome your blog he doesn’t read em but will get a kick out of this. I have no doubts you’ll figure it all out. I have learned more from some failures than some successes ..
    And some times I gotta walk away and think about for a bit.
    China
    III.

    January 21, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    • Thanks. Yeah, the Voo is doing just fine without certain equipment: Jayne is starting to show that cycle and Voo is trying like hell to provide her the service, despite lack of a package. Driving all of us a bit nuts right now, including Jayne. LOL
      And I have learned far more from failure, than success as well. Those are the lessons learned for a lifetime. Walking away from it helps refocus on the weak areas and find stronger solutions. Hmm, maybe something for Patriots to do: walk away from it and refocus. But I digress.

      See ya when you get here,

      January 21, 2013 at 6:46 pm

  2. Wildflower

    might try an auto supply house for the metric bolt size

    but still a properly running machine beats doing it by hand file

    as for the universe plans; available on GALACTIC EBAY for a heafty sum

    and if paying double, will add my autograph to them

    January 21, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    • Not real keen on spending money of things I can do myself. Maybe not the top of the line but much more satisfying.
      As for a metric bolt from the auto supply, I have metric already, but nothing of size that I can work with on this one. I will figure something out even if I make several pieces to make it work. this thing had a taper on one end to engage a high speed bearing (?!?!?!) I may have to make a tapered bearing to fit in that hole. Make it with a recess for an allen head screw and it should be fine. It’s not like it has to withstand high RPM’s, just possible torque issues(which is how I found out it was missing)

      January 21, 2013 at 8:49 pm

  3. Wildflower

    thats why am partail to metric threaded rod where can make a bolt of the right lenght

    with a dremel cut and shape to need with a slot cut for a screwdriver when needing an “allen screw”

    any shop should have both metric and standard threaded rods in their supply bins

    January 22, 2013 at 4:09 am

    • we are working on ‘stock’ but this is a fairly new venture here.
      I have some stock of base stuff, but a fairly limited supply as it had to be portable. Being able to cut threads now, means we can focus on more raw materials, not just dedicated stock like threaded rod (though I will insist on the standard pitches of TR because it comes in handy A LOT)

      January 22, 2013 at 9:16 am

  4. Ha yep he was pretty impressed. Big ass smile on his face. Then he was worried he shorted ya a bolt.I said no thats off a piece of equipment Dio had. He digged it!

    China
    III

    January 22, 2013 at 7:56 am

    • The only thing that I can say was missing was a chuck key for the three jaw, and I made that, day one. Like I have found myself saying here of late “We have a machine shop, we can make that” Some of what we need is simple as hell; the gear/indicator is not ‘needed’ seein’ how I was able to accurately cut that acme thread, but it is a desired thing to speed up production. Cutting threads without it means I have to stop the machine, reverse it back to the start of the thread for the next cut, stop the machine again to change direction,,,. That takes a lot of time and has many chances for screw up to happen.

      January 22, 2013 at 9:12 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.