Derelinquat me gehennam solus

It’s white outside!

Late yesterday, Ol’ Man winter finally made his showing.   All through the night, heavy gusting winds and lots of sleet and actual snow.   Winds gusting hard enough that one of my solar panels was knocked loose and slammed back down on the top of the RV.   Voodoo about crapped his-self then.   He wasn’t real happy about winds either.   “The house is rockin’ ’round Dad! WTF?”

Little stove did wonderful even after a few hours of wind and some new drafts rearing up and letting me know of their existence (winds helped a lot there) the temp in the RV was still mid 60’s this morning.   I did have to get up a couple of times to restoke as I didn’t damper back as much as I usually do, but I was still able to get decent sleep in between.

This is the view outside this morning.   Grey and overcast, but bright enough that I am getting nearly one amp of power from ice covered solar panels.winter

Voodoo is actually enjoying this.   The first time he saw snow, he flipped out and refused to come out of the house for awhile.   Now, he is having a blast in it.   Chasing snow balls is even more fun than chasing sticks!   He doesn’t last very long in it, but when he is out there, its dog heaven.  Then right back inside, right in front of the stove and curl up into a tiny little ball for a bit, after thoroughly cleaning his paws.   (good, I don’t need ice damaged paws on him.)

v'doo

Least to say, There isn’t an whole lot going on here today.   Outside construction will have to wait.   Torching apart scrap metal will have to wait.  Can’t fire up the forge yet as it is not in a wind break.   I can’t get up on top and remount the solar panel till the wind dies down (and the ice melts,  don’t wanna fall off the beast ) (  It is still hooked up but laying flat on its back covered in snow right now.)

Yup, today is an inside project kind of day.  Maybe boredom will get the best of me and I will come up with a post on something to make during snow days.

Talk atchy’all laters

10 responses

  1. Wildflower

    at least you are not suffering there curled up on the floor

    that is you there right?

    December 21, 2012 at 1:23 pm

  2. woof woof grrrr!

    December 21, 2012 at 1:40 pm

  3. 4:30 in the morning till 1:30 in the afternoon,I fucking hate snow removal! From bout 4;30 to 6:30 that wind was Getting it!!! To hell with the white Christmas. Ho Freaking Ho. Ok better now! Did I mention I hate Snow removal? Seriously Merry Christmas everybody!

    China
    III

    December 21, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    • Tell us what you really feel about snow removal China. LOL I feel ya man, though I didn’t have to really move any snow today. (a little in front of the shop but nuttin serious.) Biggest worry I had was dealing with belligerent dog that kept running off all day and a couple of solar panels that were moved around by that wind. I think Voo knows there are plans afoot in relation to his jewels.
      Merry Christmas back atcha.

      December 21, 2012 at 10:44 pm

  4. Things to make on a winter’s day:

    Hot chocolate
    Hot cocoa
    Hot chocolate WITH marshmallows
    Swiss Hot Chocolate
    umm. and I think Hot chocolate should make the list.

    December 21, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    • I think we should consider some hot chocolate, right after I finish the coffee.

      December 22, 2012 at 3:15 pm

  5. Spud

    You guys remind me of the whole reason I live in Floriduh…SNOW-n-Cold ! Yesterday was the first day of winter and it is chilly even here. Of course that’ll last maybe three days and be back up into the 70’s once again….
    Merry Christmas all !

    December 22, 2012 at 5:56 am

    • Yah, just rub it in. Having lived in San Diego area for a few years, I know that the ’70’s everyday’ myth is that, but the average is much better than here, that is for certain. The only reason I won’t even consider Floriduh is the humidity. I want to get away from that as much as I can. Texas was good, Arizona is better, Death Valley would be just about right. I just don’t see a whole lot of business prospects there.

      December 22, 2012 at 3:18 pm

  6. A but Spud I don’t have to worry much about Malaria or Dengue fever that seems to be making a resurgence in Florida and Texas.
    Dio, is your RV a class A or class C? I’ve got an older class C and having a stove pipe in my sleeping area seems to be contrindicated. I’m looking at a awning/cabana I saw at Sportsmanssguide.com that attaches to the side of the RV full time and is basically a dome tent that can add a lot of living area for about $500.00. My awning is toast so if I’m replacing it I might as well get something that gives a lot more enclosed living space for an extra couple hundred bucks. I know the dogs and cat will love having an additional 49 Sq feet of floor space even on the smallest version and it is high enough for good headroom standing up and doing some work.

    December 23, 2012 at 12:37 am

    • The Beast is a Class C. I took out the passenger seat to install the stove so the pipe goes through the top bunk area that is only used for storage anyway. I had to make a section to act as a double walled pipe to get through the ceiling and protect the insulation and paneling from the heat of the flue. In addition, the windows are covered (temporarily) with insulation that looks like bubble wrap covered in mylar. This reflects the heat back into the main room of the rv and insulates against the outside weather.
      I haven’t put the awning out since leaving Texas but when I had it out, it was basically my work shop. It also was handy to keep the sun off the side of the RV to keep it cooler inside. I can’t give a recommendation on that Cabana thing, I have never seen one; but the idea sounds good. I couldn’t use it as Voodoo would have at least one wall down by the end of the first day, and God Forbid, I leave him alone to his own ideas for an afternoon. LOL. He has a destructive nature, though he doesn’t think its destructive: just havin’ fun.

      December 23, 2012 at 8:55 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.