Derelinquat me gehennam solus

Winter activities

When I am not flying low over the roads of this great country, I get the chance to dig into projects.   Fact is, I always have several on the burners, not all really get a chance to take off.  Some may sit in hiatus for years before they come to fruition, but eventually, they all get at least a shot at the light of day.

As noted by one of my recent projects, getting to the light of day does not mean they are viable.   My human powered genny was one such.    That whole torque reaction really showed me that was not an option.   And that wasn’t even a big alternator, just a small DC motor.

Well, I found a 10″ dia. pipe and decided to make a go at the wind generator idea.

I figured I would pass on some information I have found to help others out if they are thinking of doing this as well.

Here are the first cuts I have made.IMG_0582 IMG_0583

Note the blade to the left seems larger than the other blade.   Fact: it is.   By nearly an inch in width at its widest.    This is my template to cut the other blades with.   Yes, the blades are just over 4 feet in length.

If you are going to do this, make sure that you have that template cut and use it to cut each blade.  Later, it can be cut down if needed as a blade.   Especially if you need to replace a blade from wind damage.

Remember that Pulley I made for the human powered generator?   Well that is going to become the hub for these blades.   That will leave me the flexibility for adapting to whatever these blades will eventually drive.  I haven’t found that particular piece yet.   The motor I have won’t work for the same reasons it didn’t work on the HPG.  Too high of a RPM rate to gain the power output needed.   I don’t expect a high RPM rate out of these blades.   Actually, I don’t want to see a high rate out of these blades, but I do want to see boat loads of torque.   That way, even if I have to run a gear box to gain some RPM’s, the option is there.

I do intend to play a tad with the pitch of the blades as well.  Having that hub will allow me to do so.   I am thinking, from looking at the curve of the blade, that a 20-30 degree pitch will make them more efficient.   Of course, that is all guess work at this stage.  I don’t know how to calculate that stuff, and this ol’ dog is gettin’ long in tooth to go learning it.   Empirical trials will be the order of the day when I get to that point.  But that is not yet.   I still need to cut out the other blades,  Trim them up and smooth the edges to airfoil shape and then balance them against each other.   Don’t want things flying apart at a couple hundred RPM.  But not today.

Instead, today will be spent patching a leak, thanks to all the lovely rain Mama Nature has decided to send our way.   That and dealing with a grumpy mutt that hates cold and wet days (when his GF Jayne is not around).  But I am warm, and have the means to get warm if I do get cold, and I have projects to keep me busy,  and THAT makes me a happy Dio.

11 responses

  1. Spud

    Best incorporate some form of auto braking… jus saying

    December 15, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    • Was thinking of shorting the load to engage as a brake if needed. I have carbon rods for stirring melted aluminum and they have a very low resistance (about 10 ohms per foot)and can handle lots of heat. Still lots of building to do before testing; Heck, I don’t even have the generator or a tower to mount to yet.

      December 15, 2012 at 10:59 pm

  2. Wildflower

    had seen others mount a rig over theit truck, mounted a homemade wind toy to see if it could survive ten to fifthy miles per hour “wind”

    do build a strong tower; weak ones will give way very fast

    December 16, 2012 at 4:14 am

    • I saw that one. Mounted over the grill of a mid 30′s jalopy. Pretty cool. The towers are a design in my head from when I was working at the fencing company building gates. Should be pretty strong and will be built in 10′ sections so height is adjustable. Guy lines will be the fun part.

      December 16, 2012 at 2:11 pm

  3. Spud

    Back when we had our sailboat, we had a wind machine. Let me tell ya, when the wind blew 60 that thing sounded like an F15 at full afterburner ! Scary being that close to that turbine at speed…It was an Alternator type turbine and used internal electronic braking, plus the vanes were carbon fiber and rated to 100 mph. Still…..

    Gotta admit tho ,that with wind at 30 knots it put out over 400 watts !

    December 17, 2012 at 8:41 am

    • I have been looking at some professionally made hubs and blades. There are a few out there that are made for low wind conditions which are the norm around here. I don’t want this as a main unit, just something to supplement the panels during the grey days of winter, which is when the wind picks up, usually. the last day or so being an exception I think.
      Still, I can imagine the blades I am making are going to be pretty noisy. It’s not like I designed them for function without noise. Heck, I don’t even know if they are going to work very well at this point. I am just making a experimental hub for now, no load, and will see what kind of winds are needed to get them going. They are pretty heavy, so I am thinking its going to take more than a ‘breeze’ to get these things in motion. Will see though.

      December 17, 2012 at 1:42 pm

  4. Wildflower

    “wood 103″ on the stick worth looking at

    December 17, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    • Checkin it out. May comment later Thnx

      December 17, 2012 at 3:05 pm

      • Good stuff on that, Thanks for pointing it out again. So much stuff on that drive that little diamonds like that get a little lost in the shuffle.

        December 18, 2012 at 1:03 am

  5. Dio,thank you for the tip and link on BCS! Exactly what I was looking for! If any one wants to buy China an A1 crucible that would be a wonderful gift. Ha ha! Seriously thanks,1st of the year there will be a couple of orders placed!

    China
    III

    December 17, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    • Figured you would get a kick out of that site. Hey, put a Christmas wish list on your site and who knows,,,,,

      December 18, 2012 at 1:01 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.