Derelinquat me gehennam solus

Voodoo the amazin hunter!

Oh, what a start to the mornin!

Voodoo started his “gotstago” pacing about7:15 this morning, just as the sun was creeping over the horizon.    I dallied around making sure the fire was up to snuff and at that point he started scratchin’ at the door, tellin’ me ” It ain’t gonna wait Dad, GOTSTAGO!”

“Alright ya tiny bladder-ed dawg” I said as I opened the door for him.

 

SURPRISE!!!!!

He hit that bottom step with his front paws and saw our neighbors.  Two good sized bucks standing not 10′ feet away.  All three, frozen in place for a split second of indecision of “What!?!?!” then Voodoo started that braying of “Get off my lawn you hooligans!” and took off after ‘em.

Those two bucks were the epitome of white tail at that point; took off down the trail behind the RV, white flags a waving, with that Catahoula cur right on their trails.   They ran about 20 yards then did that amazin’ move of split two trails at a dead run, each 90degrees off the path and in opposite directions.   Voodoo looked like he was trying to split himself in two to carry that message to each of them PERSONALLY.   Running in circles and howling in frustration, right where they split up.   Looking back at me wondering if I had an answer to his dilemma.

Poor guy just couldn’t figure out why I was laughin’ so hard.   Even now, 12+ hours later, he goes out and runs to that spot sniffing around; still tryin’ to figure out what he will do ‘next time’ I guess.   ROFL.

6 responses

  1. wanna bet that he figures it out? After all… he’s from luziana. Damn coonass!

    November 28, 2012 at 4:44 am

    • Well, better runnin the deer off the campsite, not off the property. He hasn’t done that yet but he knows, (at least I think he does) that running deer in the woods is a sure fired way to get his ass dead by bullet. And not necessarily by me, though I did let him know I wouldln’t tolerate that crap.

      Funny thing is, the squirrels all know to hide when he and I are present. I haven’t seen a one around here even though a couple of people told me they are problems.

      November 28, 2012 at 10:42 pm

  2. Wildflower

    good dog!

    November 28, 2012 at 6:53 am

  3. Damn, I wish I had seen that!

    November 28, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    • These weren’t Texas Deer either, these were some big corn fed boys. I didn’t get a count on the racks, but I would have to say neither was under 6 points. Poor Voo would have had his paws full if they had decided they should turn on him.

      November 28, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.