Derelinquat me gehennam solus

busy on Turkey day and quite happy ’bout it.

Alright, The Great IS decided that my last post needed to blasted into electron hell so what was posted was merely a title. I don’t argue (too much anyway) with the Great IS about things like this, but it is exasperating some days.

SO, While I had some decent stuff to talk about in that lost post, it might have been delivered in too negative tone, so move on.

Part of that post referred to this post by Fred Reed. It really only added fuel to the fire in my argument that we need to focus some of our preps into educational materials for future generations (and in many cases, our own minds. I have been using my Saxon Math books on a regular basis to improve one of my weak points, as just an example.)

BUT. To move on to a more positive aspect, I am going to post about one of the projects I have been involved in over the last couple of days. Another Brake Drum Forge.

This is one hell of a brake drum too: One from an Eighteen Wheeler. Seeing how much larger this drum is in comparison to the last one I made, The stand had to be much more substantial. 3” angle attached to a plate of 1/4” steel. I did try to weld the drum to the plate, and nearly succeeded, but that cast iron was far too capable of absorbing the heat of the weld and the welds cracked right off pretty quickly. That was done with an old Lincoln buzz box and I probably could have been successful if I had heated the drum first, but the mass of that thing is such that I might not have been able to get close enough to weld if I had heated it properly. Oh well, 1/2” bolts to hold it in place now and 5/16” bolts to hold the pipe flange in place and all is well again. I will tack the 5/16” onto the plate where they come through so that the temperature differences don’t walk them out over time.

Today, while the weather is warm, we will be lining the drum with firebrick and refractory cement. More to keep the heat within the drum than anything else. Running a forge of iron at melt levels with that mass would be unbearable to any but reflective heat suits. Glowing iron can catch normal clothes afire within a foot; Not exactly working conditions you realize I am sure.

Another project completed. Welding table.

 

Not as big as some I have worked on or near, but good enough for a small shop at this time. Later, if needed, a larger table can be built or this one can be extended in whatever direction needed. Why three legs? Well, the area where all of this equipment is going is not concrete. It will be simple stone compacted down. The reason is in hot metal. Spill 14lbs of molten anything on concrete and you have an instant reaction that is violent enough to remove parts of you or all of you from existence in this plane. Even the stone will react, to some extent, but it has better ability of shedding water downwards.

Three legs will make it much easier to level on that gravel.    It will also allow us to use larger clamps in come areas of the table.    No Jigs on it until projects are in process.   It looks like a beautiful blank canvas to me right now.

 

Well, other things to do today, no football or any of that; Time to be productive and time ain’t waitin.

9 responses

  1. Spud

    Funny that, I just had a long argument with a Lib friend , he thought Freds post today was racist. Told him I didn’t think so ! Fred is just plain spoken real bout things. Far as I’m concerned he is right about what he was saying.

    Nice start on the new Forge…

    November 22, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    • And the world needs far more plain spoken people, like Fred, willing to say their peace. You said you lib friend thought it was racist and I had to go back and see what they meant. Guessin’ I am not as enlightened as them as I did not see it.
      Thanks on the forge, that is a group project. I did the layout and welding. Gonna be a good and useful tool for us here in the woods.

      November 22, 2012 at 9:46 pm

      • Spud

        Ya , me either. I had to get him to explain himself. Seems he could not handle the fact that almost all industry and innovation white dudes get credit for . Didn’t really see that as a racist remark tho. More just a statement of fact.

        Sure wish you were a part of our group here ! I’m a lonely soldier where it comes to the fabrication end. Though others are willing ,just not learned in the arts.

        Just completed our water making equipment, it’s making a gallon an hour out of water that starts out at 4,000 PPM Total solids and produces finished water at 100 PPM, highly drinkable. All for only 2 0 watts.

        Next I’m building a solar parabolic distilling unit which will run totally from convection. No external power required. Other than refilling the makeup tank that is, and that can be hand pumped. Might have mass produce those if it works as expected…one O them out of the box things ya know.

        Dragon has got me thinking about Hydrogen /Oxygen as a possible substitute for Oxy/Acet. Never boring around these parts heh….

        November 22, 2012 at 11:14 pm

      • I would love to find one of those Oxy generators that are out for health issues. Acetylene is doable for some time yet. Oxygen (nearly pure that is) is more of a problem. I can get both H and O from water but separating them (in separate pure states that is) seems problematic. And of course, together they will recombine, usually quite violently as well. Still, thoughts wander over that subject on occasion as the two would be primo for far more than just torching or welding.

        November 23, 2012 at 1:20 am

  2. Wildflower

    so you are building the workshop; may you have more sucess

    meanwhile forge be great for barbaquing something…….

    November 24, 2012 at 6:13 am

    • Alien Brisket? LOL Goes both ways.

      November 25, 2012 at 11:04 pm

      • Wildflower

        want to take a strool with me on dayside mercury?

        November 26, 2012 at 1:41 am

  3. Great work Dio. Hope all is well in your world.

    November 25, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    • Other than the cold temps, and that is now taken care of, doing pretty good.
      Hope to be busy in projects soon enough as gear comes together and seems to grow out of the ground here.

      November 25, 2012 at 11:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.