Derelinquat me gehennam solus

Cozy warm, happy puppy

With the falling snow this mornin’, I decided that getting that stove installed was pretty daggum important.   Voodoo was intrigued by that falling white stuff, till some landed in his eyes and nose: He wasn’t too thrilled about it then.  Luckily, it didn’t stick around long and the day was actually not too bad, though a bit brisk.

After much measuring, looking at pipe options and cash flow, this is what I came up with for getting wood heat into the RV.

 

Getting through the roof was the part that was hanging me up.   How to go through 1 1/2″ of insulation and luan and sheet metal without creating a fire hazard.   I figured a couple of barriers were in order, but what to use for them?  Solution was in an old 1lb propane bottle and some sheet metal.  Here is the bottle welded to the pipe before I welded the sheet metal to it to seal the larger hole I cut in the ceiling/roof.   Line the hole with some sheet aluminum and all good.   Put a cap on the top pipe out side and fire that puppy up.

I did have to purchase a section to extend the pipes out long enough to get through the roof, and location was determined by distance from flammable walls.

Now, it has been burning for about 30 minutes, the temp in the RV was at 45 and is now sitting at 58.  It is still developing a bed of coals so it will improve.   I can feel the heat rising and the dog is plopped in the drivers seat near the stove making happy grunts and grumbles.

I can handle this.  I like being warm.  I think Voo is pretty happy with it as well.

6 responses

  1. Wildflower

    glad it works for you….. nothing like a warm Dio for a puppys comfort

    November 13, 2012 at 1:45 am

  2. Nice!

    November 13, 2012 at 12:44 pm

  3. Craig Cavanaugh

    The propane bottle cracks me up. A literal “up yours” to propane :)

    November 13, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    • It worked so well though! LOL I see what you mean though and talk about using available resources,,,,

      November 14, 2012 at 2:05 pm

  4. Spud

    Good location, I have considered the same spot for mine, only planed on just putting a couple 45’s and going thru the passenger window with a piece of sheet metal to replace the glass. The drivers seat I plan on putting in a swivel base so that it can be turned toward the back. Good idea to vent draft air from the exterior tho, less intrusion of cold drafts and safer too. Maybe add a damper to the stack so that it can be controlled even better with less loss up the stack. Another idea is to make a forced air stack robber for even greater efficiency . Or instead of forced air a coolant coil for hot water, set up properly it could be done on a convective loop with no pump required.

    November 14, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    • The Flue damper was in the works when I posted this. Next post is on that.
      Biggest fall down of RV’s are the cheap windows. Near zero insulation factor. I know I can cover them with plastic and what not, (and have placed insulating foam over the windows near the bed) but they tend to be odd sized and a real pain to deal with. Watch for next post for more.

      November 16, 2012 at 2:44 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.